Heartland President Joseph L. Bast Commends Bradley Foundation 2007 Prize Recipients

Published May 8, 2007

On May 3, at an event at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation presented the 2007 winners of the Bradley Prizes. These prestigious awards are given each year to “individuals of extraordinary talent and dedication who have made contributions of excellence in areas consistent with The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation’s mission” to strengthen American democratic capitalism and the institutions, principles, and values that sustain and nurture it. Each prize is accompanied by a gift of $250,000 to the award recipient.

This year’s Bradley Prize winners were John Bolton, Martin Feldstein, James Q. Wilson, and Abigail and Stephan Thernstrom. For short bios of the winners, go to http://www.bradleyfdn.org/cm-prizes.asp?ID=2007BradleyPrizeWinners.

“The Bradley Foundation is performing an outstanding service by recognizing these courageous and dedicated individuals. Often sailing against the prevailing winds of political correctness, these scholars have never trimmed their sails, never taken the easy path, and have set a course for the rest of us who work in the arena of public policy,” said Joseph Bast, president of The Heartland Institute.

“At a time when liberal group-think dominates so many of the nation’s universities, and when so much of the public debate is dominated by partisan considerations, it is a breath of fresh air to see a foundation recognizing individuals for their commitment to traditional American values and quality research,” Bast added.

“The directors and staff of the Bradley Foundation, along with the other philanthropists who help make the prizes possible, deserve our sincere thanks and highest praise for their important work. If other foundations took their missions so seriously and showed such sound judgment, every American would be much better off,” Bast concluded.