School Choice Scorecard as 2001 Begins

Published March 1, 2001

The January 2001 issue of The Friedman Report provided the following status report on school choice in the states at the start of 2001, based on data from the National Conference of State Legislatures:

Intra-District Choice (10)

Alabama, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas. These states permit transfers from one government school to another within the same district.

Inter-District Choice (22)

Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana (limited), Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri (voluntary), Nebraska, New Hampshire (voluntary), New Jersey (voluntary), North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin. These states permit transfers from one district’s government schools to another district’s; “voluntary” means districts may choose not to participate in the program.

Charter Schools (37)

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. These states permit the creation of independently operated public schools.

Tuition Tax Credits (4)

Arizona, Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois.

Vouchers (3)

Cleveland, Ohio; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; the state of Florida.