Surface Coal Mining Reclamation Award Winners

Published October 1, 1997

OSM Director’s Award Coteau Properties, Freedom Mine, Beulah, North Dakota

Excellence in Surface Coal Mining Reclamation Award

Buffalo Coal Company, Buffalo Mine, Davis, West Virginia Bellaire Corporation, Indian Head Mine, Beulah, North Dakota Triton Coal Company, Buckskin Mine, Gillette, Wyoming Peabody Coal Company, Gibraltar Mine, Central City, Kentucky Drummond Company, Kellerman Mine, Brookwood, Alabama Cumberland River Coal Company, Ridgeline Mine, Decoy, Kentucky

Reclamation Hall of Fame

The following operations have won a national award in previous years. The one-time Hall of Fame award recognizes the most outstanding past winners whose reclamation has withstood the test of time.

Coal-Mac, Inc., and the Rifle Coal Company, Debord, Kentucky Solar Sources, Inc., Lynnville Mine, Lynnville, Indiana R&F Coal Company, Cheslock-Hendershot Mine, St. Clairsville, Ohio W.H. Bowlin Coal Company, Whitley County, Kentucky Bellaire Corporation, Indian Head Mine, Beulah, North Dakota Kerr-McGee Corporation, Jacobs Ranch Mine, Wright, Wyoming Western Energy Company’s Colstrip Mine, Colstrip, Montana

Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Award

These award winners represent each of OSM’s three regions. One of them was also selected national winner.

National Winner: Eastern Region–Pennsylvania Bureau of Abandoned Mine Reclamation’s Upper Leigh Project, Foster Township, Pennsylvania Western Region–Utah Abandoned Mine Reclamation Program’s Silver Reef Project Mid-Continent Region–Texas Surface Mining and Reclamation Division’s ALCOA Project

The OSM awards program was started in 1986 and has been held every year since, except 1996, due to lack of available funds. Winners of this year’s competition were selected by a panel of judges from OSM, state reclamation agencies, and the Interstate Mining Compact Commission.

Reprinted from Mining Week, August 4, 1997.