Telecom Reform Conference Audio Now Available

Published February 13, 2005

Audio recordings of presentations delivered at the December 17-18 telecom conference sponsored by Heartland, the National Conference of State Legislatures, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. More than two dozen speakers addressed a wide range of topics, including telecommunications taxes, universal service reform, municipally owned telecommunications systems, telecommunications reform and economic growth, and competition in telecommunications.

(click links to download audio file in mp3 format)

Friday, December 17, 2004

7:15 – 8:00 a.m. Registration

8:00 – 9:00 a.m. Breakfast (4.5mb)
Hon. Steve Rauschenberger

9:15 – 10:30 a.m. Panel: Economic Benefits of Deregulation (11.5mb)
Barry Aarons
Sonia Arrison
Sean Parnell
John Rutledge

10:45 a.m. – 12:00 noon Panel: Discriminatory Telecom Taxes (10.1mb)
Deborah Bierbaum
Annabelle B. Canning
Scott Mackey
Hon. Steve Rauschenberger

12:15 – 1:30 p.m. Lunch (5.9mb)
John Rutledge

1:45 – 3:00 p.m. Panel: Obsolescence of Telecom Regulation (19.6mb)
Debra Aron
Ed Hurley
Hon. Scott Jensen
Barry Keating

3:15 – 4:30 p.m. Panel: Reform of Universal Service (22.8mb)
Bob Blau
Paul Garnett
Raymond Gifford
Steven Titch
Joe Waz

Saturday, December 18, 2004

8:00 – 9:00 a.m. Breakfast (6.5mb)
Ray Gifford

9:15 – 10:30 a.m. Panel: Municipally Owned Broadband (11.0mb)
Joseph Bast
Dave Buhler
Phil Montgomery
Ron Rizzuto

10:45 a.m. – 12:00 noon Panel: Competition in Telecom Market (11.0mb)
James L. Gattuso
Hon. Theodore J. Kanavas
Diane Katz
Paul Mancini

12:15 – 1:30 p.m. Lunch (6.5mb)
Hon. Bill Owens