Blue Ribbon Panel

Published November 1, 2005

The Blue Ribbon Panel for the Kinder Excellence in Teaching Award consists of the following individuals:

  • Frank Corcoran, founding teacher of KIPP Academy New York, the highest-performing public middle school in the Bronx for eight consecutive years
  • Mike Feinberg, KIPP cofounder
  • Dr. Howard Fuller, director of the Institute for the Transformation of Learning at Marquette University
  • Kati Haycock, director of the Education Trust, a national nonprofit advocacy group working to close racial and socioeconomic achievement gaps
  • Nancy Kinder, president of the Kinder Foundation, a family foundation in Houston
  • Rich Kinderm cofounder, chairman, and CEO of Kinder Morgan, Inc., one of the largest energy transportation and storage companies in America
  • Rebeca Nieves-Huffman, president of Hispanic CREO (Council for Reform and Educational Options)
  • Sha Reagans, founding math teacher at TEAM Academy Charter School, a KIPP school in Newark, New Jersey
  • Adam Urbanski, president of the Rochester Teachers Association, vice president of the American Federation of Teachers, and director of the Teacher Union Reform Network, a group that challenges teacher union leaders to become agents of education reform